2016-31 Rose Hot Mats

hot-mats

These pot holders stated when I noticed a category in the fall fair list for two hot mats.  I dug though my orphan block box and found the red stripped fabric.  Then I looked in my scrap bin and found a small piece of the rose fabric.  I fussy cut the roses and cut the strips into sections that could be partial pieced around the roses.  At about 8 inches square, they make a  nice sized hot mat.  I doubled the thickness of the batting to give extra protection to a table, then quilted them in a nice crosshatch flower design.  If I were to make them over, I would quilt them less densely as they tend to get stiff with the double batting and the dense quilting.  However they will work well as hot mats.  We tend to use a lot of hot mats and it is nice to have fresh ones every once in a while.

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

