2016-27 Pumpkin Nine Patch

pumpkin-nine-patch

This quilt was inspired by the border fabric.  I bought this fabric at the member boutique at the Quilt Show of the Greater Ann Arbor Quilt Guild in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  What a great sale!  I spent lots of money there and was particularly pleased with this border fabric. (Their show was exceptionally good too!)

The size of the quilt was determined by the amount of border fabric I had.  First I calculated how big I could make the quilt considering the corners had to be mitered to keep the flow of the design.  Once I knew the outside dimensions, then I built the inside of the quilt to fit.  I used some six inch nine patch blocks that came from a Guild exchange of blocks and made a few extra to expand the center.  After playing with several layout options, I selected a lovely rusty-orange fabric for the setting triangles.  It is quilted with  Superior Omni thread in Ginger Spice  using a digital design called Damask by Ann Bright.   I’m pleased with the result.

I have put it with the group of quilts from which I invite brides and grooms to select their wedding quilts.  However, I hope no one picks this one because I like it.  I could live quite happily with this quilt.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One response to “2016-27 Pumpkin Nine Patch

  1. Peggy, I can see why you are partial to this quilt. The colors are so inviting!

Leave a Reply

