2016-17 Winding Ways

winding-ways

This queen sized quilt was made as a wedding gift for my close friend Pat and her husband Alan.  These colours are Pat’s favourites and they suit her neutrally decorated house.  It took me a while to collect the fabrics and I enjoyed every minute of it!  Some of the fabrics came from my stash while most were acquisitions on two memorable shopping trips.

The quilt design is called Winding Ways, a traditional block that when set together creates a secondary circular design.  It took quite a while to piece this quilt, but since I was not in a hurry, I was able to enjoy the process.  I assembled most of the top during the summer at our cottage where my design wall is a hardwood floor adjacent to the main traffic area.  Everyone who passed by offered comments and opinions on where I should move blocks for best effect.  I feel like it was a group project!

The quilting design is a series of overlapping circles to echo the secondary circular design and give movement to the quilt.  Pat really likes the quilt and sent me this photo showing the quilt on her bed.  Looks great, doesn’t it?quilt-on-pats-bed

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 responses to “2016-17 Winding Ways

  1. This is a fabulous quilt …….. great finish! Congratulations.

  2. This is a beautiful quilt and one that I have always wanted to make. Perhaps this is the winter to start one for me.

Leave a Reply

