2016-14 Modern Dresden

modern-dresden

This queen sized quilt was inspired by some vintage Dresden Fan blades I found in my UFO cupboard.  I wanted to make them modern, so this is the result.

The pale peach background fabric is a wide fabric that I bought in the night market in Cairo, Egypt.  I have great memories of that shopping trip when a friend and her doctor-fiance negotiated for me in Arabic.  He advised me to stay silent because as a man, he could get a much better price from the male vendors.  He did get an awesome bargain for me!

The Dresden Fans are appliqued onto the background in a non-traditional asymmetrical arrangement that gives the quilt a fresh, modern appeal.  The broken inner border is also a modern element.  The quilting design is an edge to edge digital pattern called Dresden Fan by Kim Diamond of Sweet Dreams Quilt Studio.  It is stitched in a peach thread that matches the background and backing.  The same fabric French fold binding is applied to the front and hand stitched to the back.

Modern Dresden won first place in its category, Grand Champion Machine Quilting and Judges Choice at the Caledon Fair as well as Grand Champion Machine Quilting at the Fergus Fair.  I love pretty ribbons!

dscn0505

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

