2016-6 Carpenter Star

carpenter-star

This quilt was inspired by some men’s shirting prints I received from a Toronto shirt factory that makes upscale shirts.  I made a bunch of half square triangles and set them together in a Carpenter Star design.  I opted to make the flying geese to increase the size of the quilt.  With extra negative space, it made a great canvas for fancy quilting, so custom quilting with feathers seemed to fit my vision.  The quilting design in the blocks is Barbara’s Feather’s by Donna Klienke, the pattern in the border is Naysa’s Feathers by Christy Dillon and the design in the flying geese is a simple feathered sash I created.  The background of the flying geese is freehand matchstick quilting.  It is single bed size.

I like how the blank space shows the fancy quilting well.  This is one of my personal favourites of the year.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

