2015-25 Zodiac Stack and Whack

Stack and WhackThis Stack and Whack quilt was made from a UFO I purchased at the Mississippi Valley Quilters Guild show in Davenport, Iowa.  The guild had a great show and a wonderful sale area.  I spent too much money there!

This package contained the stack and whack pieces cut out, the navy background pieces and enough of the Zodiac themed yardage for the borders and binding.  I added the setting triangle fabric from my stash and bought the wheat coloured inner border to coordinate.   This was the first quilt I assembled on my new featherweight machine.  It was very pleasant to piece this – a project I did in small snippets of time during a small quilting class with advanced level children.  When they did not need me, I just stitched away on my project and they stitched away on theirs.  It was very companionable and gave me something to do rather than stand over them when they were fully capable of sewing on their own.

Once the top was pieced, I quilted it with a design called Just Stars, which enhanced the Astrological theme of the fabric and echoed the stars of the setting triangles.  The thread is a gold Omni by Superior Threads.

The finished quilt was given to Adam and Meg as a wedding quilt.  Adam is a neighbour at our cottage who played in the forest, swam, boated, skiied and eventually partied every summer with our two children.  He is the first of the very tight knit group of seven cottage kids to get married.  He chose a lovely life partner and we were happy for them both.

Save

Leave a Reply

