2014-23 Cowboy Cabins

Cowboy Cabins

This quilt was created as a project for domestic machine quilting.  Normally, I do all my quilting on a longarm machine.  When I decided I wanted to enter a quilt in the domestic machine category at the fall fair, I had to switch my thinking to sit down machine quilting.  The blocks are all stitched in the ditch and the border is done in straight line crosshatching.  To keep it square and straight, I basted the project on the longarm before removing it to my domestic.  Basting it square makes a huge difference to the outcome of a project and it is much easier to quilt when the safety pins are not in the way.   This quilt took me 2.5 days to quilt on the domestic machine and it would have taken about 4 hours on the longarm.  The hours of extra work and my resulting sore shoulders reminded me of why I quilt by longarm!  I say “never again”, but I probably will do it another time after I have forgotten my aches and pains.

The cowboy themed Christmas backing coordinated well with the top and inspired the name “Cowboy Cabins”.  This quilt will be donated to the guild Community Outreach efforts.

Leave a Reply

