2013-19: Four Patch Charm

Four Patch Charm Quilt

This queen sized quilt began its development as a colour-wash wall hanging kit that I purchased from Kathy, a quilting friend, when she purged her stash in 2002.  After buying it, I decided that I do not care for color wash, so I opted to make the fabric pieces into four patches with white fabric in the alternating blocks.  Although I enjoyed making the blocks, when I was finished, I had no idea for their use that seemed quite right to me.  So they sat in a box for about 10 years.

Last winter, in my quest to finish things, muttering the mantra that “Done is better than perfect”, I decided to finish them.  I set the blocks with the purple, a fabric I bought in the Hispanic section of Queens, NY.  I  had been out with my friend Barb, shopping for Spanish books, but happened to come across a fabulous fabric store with prices that I could not resist!  So I bought lots!  An interesting side note, a customer in the store was purchasing bolts and bolts of fabrics to be shipped to a fabric store in Colombia.  We  had a fascinating conversation about the market there.  Not only was the exchange enlightening, it also gave me a welcome opportunity to practice my Spanish language skills.  Not much chance of that where I live!

The teal color was pulled from my stash for the setting triangles and border.

Lob Detail

The two quilting designs are Lob and Betty Flower, both by Helen Baczynski.   When quilting this, I challenged myself to do the entire quilt with point to point designs.  When finished this quilt, I felt that I had successfully mastered this technique!  The border design is a variation of Helen’s Lob pattern, which I adapted to make a point to point border design.

In the four patches, the thread is a Superior green/blue variegated poly.  In the purple, the thread is Superior So Fine in purple.  The border is done with a poly in a teal colour and the bobbin thread is Superior Bottom Line in a purple.

The binding was applied to the front and hand stitched to the back.

The fingers and toes peeking out from the quilt belong to my husband  and Roger, a cottage guest from Dallas, Texas and brother of our friend Amy.  Roger and his wife Jerre were enjoying the respite of beautiful Muskoka temperatures which they found to be significantly more refreshing than the 110 degrees they had been experiencing at home.   It is hard for us Northerners to imagine that degree of constant heat.

The finished quilt goes into my wedding quilt stash from which I invite brides to make a selection of their preferred quilt.  We have four weddings this year, so I’d like to get a few more quilts done to give the bride a wide range of colours and styles.  I find that people have strong emotional reactions to quilts and that different people react very differently to the same design.  It is quite fascinating!  My kids and I make predictions on which quilt the bride will choose.  Occasionally we are right!

Update: August 2013  – This quilt won the prize for Grand Champion, Machine Quilting at the Drayton Fall Fair, August 2013.

One response to “2013-19: Four Patch Charm

  1. Lorraine Babuick

    How do I get in this group of quilt coaching? I need a swift kick to get me going. So many just need the quilting done.
    Lorraine babuickl@telus.net

Leave a Reply

