2013-14 Exploding Rail Fence

Exploding Rail Fence

This quilt which I call Exploding Rail Fence is made from the quilt blocks designed by the Three Dudes and made popular by the Missouri Star Quilt Company.  I forget what they call it, but I can only think of it as Exploding Rail Fence.

To make this block, you start with two rail fence blocks.  They are placed right sides together with one of the blocks rotated 90 degrees.  You then sew around all four sides of the sandwich.  Then you cut the sandwich on the diagonal into quarters.  The quarters are opened up, pressed, rearranged and sewn together to form a square.

The result is a block that is quite different from the rail fence you started out with.  Unfortunately, all of the blocks now have bias edges.  I really dislike bias edges on blocks because it is hard to keep the block square and true.  So to counteract the bias, I put straight grain coping strips on all four sides of the blocks.  They ended up looking like this:

DSC09447

I then added sashing and sashing blocks.  Because the coping strips were on the straight grain, the blocks were true and square.

Exploding Rail Fence Blocks

Then the borders of a blue striped shirting fabric were added.  The quilting design is called Fantasia but unfortunately, I do not know the name of the designer.  The backing is a light blue small vintage print that I bought while on holiday in New York City.  The binding in a deep purple is attached to the front by machine and sewn with an invisible stitch to the back by machine with Superior MonoPoly thread.  The corners were hand stitched to finish the quilt.

It is quite big and will be a gift to someone, someday!

10 responses to “2013-14 Exploding Rail Fence

  1. When gifting time comes, you will be ready. Nice finish!

    • Hi Deanna: I does feel good to have quilts on hand for gifting when the time comes. Having a stash of quilts on hand allows me to be spontaneously generous with my finished quilts.

  2. Laurie in Brampton, Ontario

    Nice use of shirting fabrics! Laurie in Brampton, Ontario

    • Hi Laurie: Thanks for your message! I’m off to the cottage today for a piecing retreat. Did you get up to the French River this year for your personal piecing retreat? Hope so! Northern Ontario is so peaceful for piecing! All the best, Peggy

  3. would like to know how you do the binding on the back side. you said you used invisible stitch on machine go you show a picture of this? thanks,

    • Hi Sharon: Check out the photos and discussion in the post 2013-5 Rail Fence Baby Quilt http://wp.me/p1RFMf-hw
      You will find photos of the binding both front and back. I stitch from the back because my machine does not like MonoPoly as a top thread. I have tried multiple times with many different tensions, but always get horrible tangled big loops and bird’s nests. So now I just use MonoPoly in the bobbin and it works well for me that way.

  4. Fantastic job! Yours looks great! Kathy Aho in MN

  5. Glad you like the name I came up with. It just seemed to fit! Good job on the quilt. Terry of Idaho

    • Hi Terry: Thanks for thinking of this name! Once I read of your calling it Exploding Rail Fence, I found it to be so perfect, I could not call it anything else! I like your creative thinking!

Leave a Reply

