2013-11: Vintage Bow Ties

Bow tie Quilt This baby-sized quilt was made from some bow tie blocks that came to me in a scrap bag.  Some of the bow ties were made up already by hand sewing and others were still in pieces.  Using my sewing machine, I assembled the pieces to make enough blocks for this little quilt.  The blocks are not all exactly the same, but they still look alright.    I then added the two borders in coordinating colours.

I quilted it on the long arm using Bottom Line in the Bobbin and a light blue So Fine thread on top.  I quilted it in a custom fashion – a block design in each block and separate designs in each border.  I did not stabilize the quilt around each block and border before quilting.  I can definitely tell by the finished result that stabilization would have produced a better looking quilt.  That is a good lesson for me.  I will stabilize anything that I custom quilt.  Without stabilization – stitch in the ditch around each block and border – it is difficult to keep the quilt true and square.

DSCN1546

Even though this does not meet my personal standards of acceptable quilting, I am sure that someone will love it anyway.  This will be a donation quilt to a deserving charity.

5 responses to “2013-11: Vintage Bow Ties

  1. I love this one! Great border fabric! amy

  2. Peggy, you may be more critical of your quilting than any of us who see the photo. I think it looks great !

  3. Nann, you are right! I have a strong inclination towards perfectionism. I always have to remind myself that the average person has no idea if it is good or worse. Definitely, the person who receives the quilt will appreciate the warmth of the quilt and will not give a thought to perfect stabilization!

  4. What do you mean by “stabilizing” around the borders?

  5. Hi Deanna:
    By stabilizing the borders, I mean to stitch in the ditch on each side of the inner border. That keeps the visual line of the border true and straight. Without stabilization, when you move your hopping foot sideways across the border, the drag from the foot and thread moves the fabric slightly so that the visual line has a bit of a wiggle in it. If you look closely at the photo above, you can see how the red border wiggles in and out. If I had stitched in the ditch, it would have been firmly anchored in place and no movement of the border would have shown. It is a small point, and certainly not something the average person would notice. Because I am a machine quilter who knows what is involved in producing high quality quilts, I prefer to do my best possible work. So now, on to the next quilt. I never look back. I would never rip out and fix something that is acceptable. However, next time, I will stabilize my inner border because I want to quilt my best on my quilts.
    Hope that explains!
    Peggy

Leave a Reply

