2013-9: Vintage Nine Patch

Vintage Nine Patch

Several years ago when I was busy with work related travel, I had little time for piecing tops.  I got the bright idea to purchase tops on eBay so I could quilt them as I had time.  It sounds good in theory, but the reality is quite different.  I purchased a dozen tops, but the quality of the fabric and condition of the tops left a bit to be desired.  When I opened the packages, I was somewhat dismayed by my impulsive and imprudent purchases.  Chagrined, I stuffed them into a cupboard for several years, but since my retirement, I have forced myself to bring them out of hiding and quilt them.

This vintage nine patch quilt is one of those infamous e-Bay flimsies.  The vintage cotton top is hand pieced and showed evidence of unprotected storage in an attic where little four footed creatures scurry.  Sigh!

I prepared a backing of a greenish grey shirting and quilted it with a tan thread in a pattern called Pretty Posie, designed by Tammy Finkler, which suited the old fashioned nature of the quilt.  The batting is Warm and Natural – 100% cotton.

Once quilted, I soak-washed the quilt, using a healthy dose of Fantastic on the stains on the top.  After a good rinse, I dried it in the dryer.  It came out soft and puckered, like a well-worn old  quilt.  I then bound the quilt with a slate blue cotton shirting.

I’m quite pleased with the final result.   The stains are mostly gone and it looks like a well loved vintage quilt.  My son has asked me not to give it away and I have agreed.  This quilt will find a home at our summer cottage where it will be a great snuggle quilt for cool summer evenings on the screened-in porch.    Now I am sorry I left this top hidden in a cupboard for so many years!

4 responses to “2013-9: Vintage Nine Patch

  1. I love the simplicity of the quilt. Your finishing it is inspirational – I can ‘shop’ my own closet to find an aging top top finish!

  2. It is amazing how much quilting and finishing a quilt helps it. Great job. I agree-it is a keeper.

  3. It does look vintage! Quilting does help and you have yourself a lovely quilt that will be well loved by your family!!! Thank you for posting a hot link from Stashbusters!

  4. It will be a family treasure. Count on it. Did you put a label on it?

Leave a Reply

