2013-4: Let It Snow Quilt

Let It snow quiltThis quilt is made from a kit of coordinating fabrics from Reichard’s quilt Store in St. Jacobs Ontario.  The fabrics are from a line of flannels called Let It Snow.  The flannels are a nice heavy weight and were relatively easy to sew, but in general, I prefer to sew with quilters cottons.

It was quilted with a digital pantograph call Snowflake Simple by Nancy Haacke.  It is a fairly dense panto, so I made it as large as my throat space would allow.  I used a cotton covered poly thread on top and a Bottom Line in the bobbin.

Let it snow detailI like the overall effect of the panto.  Despite the dense quilting, the quilt is still soft and cuddly.  This was my first time to make a quilt from a kit.  It was an interesting change, but I still prefer to make quilts of my own design.  The quilt is a donation quilt.

Leave a Reply

