2012-38: Four Patch Table Runner

Four Patch Table Runner

Many years ago – probably about 15, I purchased a package of color wash fabrics, kitted for a wall hanging.  Not long after buying it, I decided that color wash did not appeal to me, so I made the squares up into four patches.  They sat in a pizza box until this year, when I pulled them out to make a queen sized quilt top.  There were a few four patches left over and in early December, I decided to piece them together into this table runner.

The inner and outer border fabric came from my stash and gives a distinctly springtime feel to this table runner.

The free motion quilting is a half flower motif done in a rose colored poly thread with Bottom Line in the bobbin.  The straight grain binding, made of the same fabric of the inner border, was applied to the front by machine and hand stitched to the backing.   The finished topper measures 16.5 by 36 inches.

One of my goals for early 2013 will be to get the queen sized flimsie quilted and bound.  It seems odd to have a project made of the left-overs finished before the main project!  Nevertheless, finishing small projects gives me motivation to get the large ones done too!

 

Leave a Reply

