2012-35: Blue Table Topper

Blue Table Topper

This table topper was made from some paper-pieced 5.5 inch blocks in my orphan block shoe box.  These blocks were made with Pointillist Palette fabric – so I am sure you can guess how long they have been hanging around.  Even though the fabric is an older print, I still love the gradations in the color.  I paired the blocks with a navy and tiny gold star print for both sashing and borders.

The topper was quilted in a star meander with a gold metallic thread which carries out the star theme and adds a bit of festive sparkle to the table runner.  The binding was applied to the front and hand stitched to the back.  The topper finished at 17 inches square.  It will go into my stash of finished small items to be given as a gift to someone someday.  I like having extra finished item to pull from when I need a gift for someone who knows and appreciates the amount of work that goes into a handmade gift!

I applied the binding to three more small projects today and  I’m hoping to get one more hand stitched before my head touches the pillow tonight.  I love the look of hand stitched binding, but wish it was quicker to do.  If I could find a way to achieve the hand stitched look by machine, I would do it in a heart beat!

 

Leave a Reply

