2012-21: Shoo Fly Quilt

Shoo Fly quiltOne lazy summer day at the cottage, a pile of coordinating jewel toned scraps caught my attention.  I decided to make up some Shoo Fly blocks.  At the cottage, I have no stash – only have the project specific fabrics I bring from home.  Luckily though,  I had just purchased several pieces of black cotton at the Sally Ann in Parry Sound.  Sometimes I get lucky there!   So this Shoo Fly quilt was made so with the scraps and black yardage I had on hand.

I found the plain background to be a bit uninspiring, so I quilted it with a Signature brand variegated thread.  It brought the quilt to life!  The plum colored binding was applied to the front by machine and hand stitched to the back.

Freehand meandering on Shoefly Quilt

Freehand meandering on Shoo Fly Quilt

Leave a Reply

