Bob, Bob, Bobbin Along

Sometimes the smallest things discourage me from progressing on a project.  Something like an empty bobbin.

When I get on a roll with a project, I want to keep going.  Having to stop sewing to fill a bobbin breaks my flow and concentration.  It generally means that I have to unthread my sewing machine , thread the bobbin winder, fill the bobbin and then re-thread the machine before I can replace the empty bobbin with a full one.  When I say it that way, it doesn’t seem like a big effort, but when it breaks my concentration, it can turn into a big deal.  If it happens in the middle of a seam, I stop the work on the seam, go through the filling and re-threading process and then because my focus is diverted, my mind then thinks…good time to take a bathroom break or get a drink of water or check on dinner preparations, or taking a quick look at my email, etc.  Of course, once I get distracted with any one of the many other activities of normal life, it makes sewing the rest of that seam even more delayed. This lost production time typically ends up to be wasted time, frittered away on unimportant activities.

Keeping myself productive and focused on the goals that are important to me is one of the regular challenges of life.  My solution to the empty bobbin challenge is to fill plenty of bobbins to see me right though to the end of my current project.

So when planning my priorities for the week, typically Sunday evening, I fill enough bobbins to last me through the week.  My two highest priority projects this coming week require light blue thread and an off-white thread.  Here are my bobbins filled and ready to support my production this week.

Having these bobbins filled and waiting for me makes changing a bobbin a simple matter of sliding the empty one out and the filled one in place.   Filling eighteen bobbins at once is much more efficient and saves both time and effort.  Best of all, it keeps me on track and in the productive zone, so that I accomplish my goals more quickly and more efficiently.

A finished project is one that I enjoy much more than one that languishes partly done in a grocery sack in my UFO cupboard.  Small efficiencies like filled bobbins make a big difference to both my production capacity and my enthusiasm for sewing and quilting.  In addition, I play a little game with myself to try to use as many bobbins as possible each week.   I call a week very successful when I have emptied all of the prepared bobbins.   Since I use Bottom Line, a trilobal polyester thread in my bobbins, there is A LOT of thread on those bobbins!

“Most people diffuse their psychic energy (attention) in hundreds of random ways. Those who flow focus their psychic energy intentionally upon the task at hand. It really boils down to knowing your goal, concentrating upon it, remaining determined, and having the self-discipline to complete what you are doing.”    – Dick Sutphen,  Psychic researcher, hypnotist, author

Concentrate all your thoughts upon the work at hand. The sun’s rays do not burn until brought to a focus.   – Alexander Graham Bell


One response to “Bob, Bob, Bobbin Along

  1. Having bobbins at the ready really does make a difference. I wind five at a time and then do a quick maintenance on my machine when it is time to wind more. It keeps the lint down, needle sharp and things humming along.

    If I do run out mid-project, I have discovered that I can put the bobbin thread on the second thread spindle and usually wind the bobbins from there without having to re-thread the whole machine.

    Your organized case looks good. The challenge of using the bobbins would help keep me sewing, too.

Leave a Reply

