Quilting Log Book

My quilting log book is one of my best motivational tools.   Motivational?  Really?

At first glance, my quilting log book looks like an organization tool.  It is a just a three ring binder filled with lined note paper in which I note everything I accomplish each day in my sewing studio.  The types of things I note typically include:

PROJECT PROGRESS

  • The name of the current project
  • What I did on that project
  • Measurements or calculations made relating to that project
  • Block assembly diagrams
  • Pressing diagrams
  • Problems encountered and solved
  • Activity towards the next projects – cutting, pressing, washing fabrics, kitting

MAINTENANCE

  • Cleaning machines
  • Oiling machines
  • Making work-flow adjustments that make production even better
  • Changing needles
  • Testing new tools and attachments

CLEANING

  • Vacuuming my floors  (Yes!  Even this!)
  • Wiping down the counters
  • Tidying one of the cupboards

ORGANIZATION

  • Reviewing my UFO cupboard
  • Folding and fondling my stash
  • Ordering new supplies when needed
  • What I learned
  • Any Professional Development – reading or research work

When I list all of those things, it really does sound like an organization tool or at least a memory aid.  So why do I consider it to be effective motivation?

This logbook stays open on my counter with pen handy.  I note absolutely everything I accomplish.  I can see at a glance what I have completed and can see equally well when I have not done anything notable.  It is a good reality check to gauge my progress.  When I see the page empty, I feel the desire to write something on it.  So I get busy and get something done.  The more accomplishments I write down, the more I want to add to the list.  Success breeds success!

This simple, unassuming log book has been the most motivating tool I have used to keep myself working towards completion of my projects, WIPs and UFOs.  Anything that keeps me focused and productive is a wonderful addition to my sewing room and deserves its high-profile spot on my work counter.

“The Secret of Getting Ahead is Getting Started.” – Mark Twain

“Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out.” – Robert Collier

2 responses to “Quilting Log Book

  1. Great quotes! thanks for sharing this idea.

  2. Laurie in Brampton, Ontario

    I love the idea of a quilter’s log book! What a great motivational tool. I have set one up following your guidelines and it will be fun to see the progress I am making. Do you also keep a record of your finished quilts? I have a binder that I started ages ago but am considering transferring all the information, with photos, into a computer record and would appreciate any suggestions you may have. Maybe a future blog posting? Love your blog–thank you! P.S. I know I have one of those telescoping magnets around here somewhere but looked everywhere I can think of and can’t find it. Of course I noted the time spent looking in my new log book! LOL

Leave a Reply

