Indulging My Impulses: Sewing Progress

At the end of 2011, my cupboard of unquilted flimsies was blissfully empty.  I worked hard at completing all of the tops I had on hand and was pumped that I completed my goal.  In fact, I was so proud of my accomplishment, I took a photo of my empty flimsie cupboard.

 

 

Getting all those tops quilted felt great.  The little quilting angel on my shoulder kept cheering “You go, girl!”  Mind you, I still had quite a few projects in process UFOs (Unfinished Objects) and WIPs (Works in Progress) in another cupboard that still needed my attention.  Because I cleaned up so many projects in 2011, I decided for 2012 to lighten the focus on unfinished projects and allow myself to create new quilts.      I took some time to ponder the many possibilities and while pondering, kept working on the UFOs.  The trouble is, I like the feeling of cleaning up the old projects so much that I just keep working on the UFOs.

I have not started a single new project, but I do have finished tops and several sets of blocks.  For some unknown reason, I have been in a sewing and piecing mood for the last two months and have not felt much like quilting.   I am not sure why.  Perhaps I just  enjoyed the feeling of ticking another UFO off the list.  I have no pressing deadlines for finished quilts, so I decided to simply indulge my desire to sew and piece.  Quilting and binding can wait for another day.  Maybe I’ll feel more like quilting in April.

Over the years, I have learned that it is better for me to wait until I am completely finished the project before I show it publicly.  When I take an unfinished top to quilt guild for Show and Tell, invariably it will take several months longer to get it quilted.  So , knowing myself, I won’t let myself post a project until it is done-done.   Sigh!  That means I have not had any finished projects to show you.

So what can I do to show you how productive I have been?  Wait… I can give you a peek into my flimsie cupboard!  The roll-out tray that was empty on December 31st now contains 10 flimsies waiting for quilting.  Six are large quilts, three are baby or lap sized and one small table runner sits on top.  I have another quilt top on the design wall that I hope will be finished by Tuesday evening.

Hmmm…  Sounds like I might need to turn my attention to the quilting.

What can I do to get started?  Something small would not be too difficult.  Okay, I can do something small.  I will make a commitment to cut batting and prepare backings for the four small projects by Thursday evening this week.  These smaller quilts would be good warm-up projects to generate quilting momentum and enthusiasm.  And that is the first step to getting and keeping my mojo – just getting started!  I know that once I get moving on a project, I will enjoy every moment and soon I will have some finished projects to show you.

In the meantime, over the next couple of weeks, I am going post a series of tools and techniques that keep me progressing on my quilt goals.   That, too, will nudge me towards finishing my current projects.

Leave a Reply

