2012-2: Scrappy 9 Patch Quilt

Nine Patch QuiltMy mother brought this scrappy nine patch top to me at Christmas so I could quilt it for her.  It is the tenth of eleven quilts that we are preparing as future wedding gifts for her eleven grandchildren.  I heard a rumor at Christmas that  my niece might get engaged in the spring.   She would be the first of the eleven grandchildren to take that step.  She will be able to select her quilt from the eleven finished quilts.

Mom is a committed scrap quilter and she enjoys seeing the sparkle emerge in a quilt top.  She prefers a fluffy batting, so these are quilted  with a medium density meander.  The design is a trillium meander, from Darlene Epp’s little book on meanderings.

The top measures 50 inches by 70 inches and is quilted with a light blue poly thread.  I’ll deliver the quilt to my mother in early February and she will add the binding.

This is one of the quilts I had committed to do in 2012, which now can be checked off my list and counted as a goal completion.  I like to get the commitments out of the way to free me for creative play.  When something is pressing on my conscience, I find it hard to enjoy guilt-free creative expression.   I prefer to play without guilt, so I’m glad this one is done!

Goal Status:  2 done, 49 more to go!

One response to “2012-2: Scrappy 9 Patch Quilt

  1. So sweet and cheerful! Sure to be loved.

Leave a Reply

