Project 2011-34: Table Runner

On Friday, Michael, the son of our good friends Barb and Francis, graduated from McMaster University with his PhD degree.  On Saturday, Barb and Francis held a dinner party for about 50 family and friends to celebrate Michael’s accomplishment.  In lieu of gifts, they asked Dan Bailey, a well-known local auctioneer and long-time friend to conduct an auction of donated items with all proceeds going to Autism research, Michael’s preferred charity.

When I dropped off some chafing dishes on Thursday, Barb showed me the donated auction items.  Inspired by Michael’s selflessness, I offered to contribute one of the Christmas table runners I had recently finished.  However, on Saturday afternoon, I decided to whip up an extra runner for the auction.   I knew that if I used some of the orphan blocks I had on hand, I could have a runner complete by the 4:30 departure time from home.

These two wonky four patch blocks came to me in October in a scrap bag when the Loon Country Quilters Guild cleaned out the guild storage bins.  I’m a scrap quilter, so I am always pleased to receive a bag of scraps!  These two blocks  seemed to go well with some navy fabric in my stash, so I quickly assembled them into this runner.  I quilted feathered wreaths and a feathered border with a navy thread.  The binding, made from the same fabric as the backing, was applied to the back and machine top stitched on the front.   I used a matching navy thread on top and an invisible poly thread in the bobbin.  The table topper went together fairly quickly without any problems and I finished with just enough time left to get myself ready for the party.  While my husband waited for me at the door, I  stole a moment to take this photo of the table topper.

The dinner was delicious, the party was fun and the auction was a success with both table runners raising a nice sum for Autism.

Leave a Reply

