Project 2011-15: Miss Piggie

Fall Fair Silent Auction Quilt

You can dress her up, but you can’t take her out. This quilt, named Miss Piggy, started her life at my house as a literal sow’s ear. Miss Piggy will never be a silk purse, but she definitely looks better than when we started.

For a number of years, my work required extensive international travel, which severely limited my quilting time. (It did facilitate very interesting and abundant fabric purchases, but that is another story.) However, because I had made a personal commitment to make quilts for all of my nieces and nephews and the children of my close friends (Total of 42 quilts required), I was feeling a bit of pressure to get some quilts done, despite my quilting hiatus. Thinking creatively on how to increase my quilt production, I got the bright idea to buy some quilt tops on eBay.

Miss Piggy was one of my eBay purchases. She looked MUCH better in the online photo than she did in person. When she arrived at my home, I found her peaked with bra points, rumpled with puckered and tucked seams and ruffled with flared edges. She could not possibly lie flat, even with aggressive pressing.
Embarrassed at my less than prudent purchase, I stuffed her into my flimsie
cupboard for about 5 years. Since my recent retirement, completing UFOs and
getting them off my conscience is a priority; so Miss Piggy gradually made her
way to the top of the pile.

In August, after fixing some of the more challenged seams, I loaded her onto
the long arm and did a fairly dense feather meander. I prodded and stretched
and manipulated her to get her to quilt flat. By the time I had her quilted
into submission, she sported only a couple small tucks and pleats, but they are
not readily noticeable. My husband says the pleats give it an old-fashioned
character. I’m not sure I agree, but she did turn out much better than I
expected. In fact, taking a second look at her, it is hard to believe she is the same quilt. Maybe she will be presentable in public after all!

A royal blue binding has since been added. Miss Piggy was then donated to
the “Home-Made” table of the Rosseau Agricultural Fair,  Aug 27th. Fair
visitors bid on the donated items and at the end of the day, the highest bidder
gets the item. All proceeds support the fair, so hopefully someone else will
appreciate Miss Piggy and bid her up. This fair is in cottage country, so she
will likely be purchased with someone’s summer cabin in mind. A perfect place
for Miss Piggy.

FYI, Rosseau is located at the northern most point of Lake Rosseau, one of the
three big lakes in Muskoka. This is the lake where Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell and Martin Short and a host of other celebrities have cottages, but I am pretty sure that they will not be at this very small community fair! No worry about Goldie bidding on this quilt! LOL!

Update:  My next door neighbour, Andy,  was the highest bidder on the quilt.  He is thrilled to have a quilt – one of his life long dreams.  Andy says he is taking it to his hunting camp, but I think he may have been teasing me.

2 responses to “Project 2011-15: Miss Piggie

  1. Glad to hear MISS PIGGY landed onto Andy’s bed! I’m sure he’ll take good care of her…the ugly duckling turned into a beautiful swan. (I call Little Whitefish home)

    • Hi Mary! Nice to see a comment from you! We will have to get together for a quilting day this summer. I can hardly wait to be lakeside again. Hugs, Peggy

Leave a Reply

