Project 2011-7: Baby Waste Not, Want Not

Scrap Quilt

Orphan Blocks made into a baby quilt

There were several leftover blocks from the big Waste Not Want Not Quilt, so they were put together into a baby quilt.  Orphan blocks are just that – orphans.  they have no place to live and they don’t belong anywhere.  They are just clutter. I like to give my orphans a loving home.    So these six blocks were joined together with plain blue sashing and borders to make a simple baby quilt.

On utility quilts like this one, I like to try out new techniques.  This border was drawn using a stencil and quilted with a domestic machine with a thread cutter.  I wanted to try the thread cutter to manage all of the starts and stops in the design.  While I am happy with the results, I prefer continuous line quilting on the long arm.

Back view of scrap quilt

Back view showing the quilting design

The sashing was done with straight line quilting on the domestic machine and the blocks were done on the long arm.  I quilted a feathered wreath that fills out the full square of each block.  it is rare that I would use two different types of quilting in one quilt, but on a low-pressure quilt like this one, it is a great opportunity to try new techniques.  Since the quilt was not destined for any particular recipient, I feel great freedom to be creative and experimental with my quilting.  This quilt goes into my baby quilt stash.  Someday, some mother will love this quilt and will choose it for her baby.  If I get tired of seeing it in the stash, it will go to a community outreach project.

Take Away Lesson: 
There is great satisfaction in using orphan blocks to create something useful and beautiful.  When there is no pressure for perfection, I can experiment, try new things and develop my quilting skills.

Companion Quotes:
“The true method of knowledge is experiment.”  William Blake
“The Law of Probabilities: the more things you try, the more likely one of them will work.”  Jack Canfield
“Only when you free yourself to be a mere beginner again, which implies experimentation, do you progress to the next level of excellence.”  Stella Reinwald

Leave a Reply

